The Helpful People Box

Helpful People Box Feng ShuiIn Feng Shui there is a specific area of the home associated with Helpful People and Travel. The area or gua as it is commonly referred to in Feng Shui is located in the front right corner of your home as you enter through the main door. Just like the name implies, this area represents attracting helpful people of any description into your life, along with opening more opportunities for travel and adventure. Not too long ago, I really became acquainted with this area of my home because I needed help, and I needed help fast!

Late last summer a little black and white feral cat started showing up around our home. Being the compassionate animal lover that I am I began to leave little bits of food out for the cat. Through time the cat became a regular fixture around our home and so was upgraded to having his own food and water bowls which were replenished twice a day. All seemed well enough until my husband noticed that “Glow” named after “his” amazing glowing yellow eyes started to get rather chunky. While my husband insisted that Glow was a “she” and was probably pregnant I held out insisting that Glow was in fact a “he” and that “he” had simply gained some much needed weight. Hello, didn’t he remember how skinny little Glow was when “he” first arrived on the scene?

One sunny afternoon in early December, 2012 while I was out on the porch cleaning the front door I happened to notice three little fuzz balls wobbling around the area by our well house. Immediately I went inside and grabbed the binoculars. As I made my way back out onto the front porch it suddenly became very clear that the fuzz balls were in fact kittens, three to be exact. In that moment it was undeniably official, Glow was a “she.” What started out as one feral kitty had suddenly morphed into four. Christmas had come just a bit early to the Blevins household. Oh joy!

I quickly ran inside and called my husband to share the wonderful news. Glow was a female and had three kittens! Needless to say my husband’s response could best be described as somewhat lacking in enthusiasm. As the weeks went by the kittens grew healthy and strong and of course were incredibly cute. In what seemed like no time at all the kittens were quickly approaching four months of age. Then it dawned on me that if I didn’t get Glow and the kittens spayed and neutered then my sweet family of four feral kitties would increase exponentially. The question was just how in the world do you go about trapping four feral cats and where exactly do you take them to get spayed and neutered? Enter “The Helpful People Box.”

Fortunately I had learned courtesy of my brilliant Feng Shui teacher, Karen Rauch Carter, how to create a “Helpful People Box.” Simply take a small silver box with a lid and write down on a piece of paper a “prayer of thanks” for some specific help you currently need and place it in the box and then place the box with the request in the Helpful People and Travel gua of the home. So using a small round metal tin purchased from Michael’s Arts and Crafts I wrote out on a small piece of paper the following prayer of thanks and placed it in my helpful people box. “The perfect support team to assist me in safely trapping Glow and her kittens so that they can be spayed and neutered. Thank You!” Then I simply surrendered my “prayer of thanks” to the universe trusting that help would soon arrive.

The following day I sat down and started “googling” spay and neuter clinics in northeastern Tennessee. After about an hour of searching, I finally happened upon a link for a spay and neuter clinic based out of a neighboring town. My heart nearly skipped a beat as my eyes landed on a small advertisement for Appalachian Feral Cat Allies. With trembling hands I called the contact number and within moments was talking to the “helpful person” who would not only provide the traps to safely capture Glow and her kittens but would also transport them to a subsidized spay and neuter clinic AND return them back to me! All of this for just $35.00 per cat and this fee also included rabies vaccinations! My “prayer of thanks” had been answered in less than 24 hours!

Two days later a lovely woman arrived at my home to loan me four humane wild animal traps free of charge. She thoroughly demonstrated how set each trap and then shared some helpful tips on how to best coax the cats into the traps. Trust me when I say that this is not as easy as it sounds! The following week I successfully captured the cats and my “helpful person” happily returned that day to pick them up so that she could transport them to the clinic the following morning. Following an overnight stay at the clinic my “helpful person” again picked the cats up and transported them back to me. Another astonishing element to this story is that my wonderful “helpful person” lived close to two hours away from me and had only just started providing feral cat support to my area!

Since this time I’ve had many more amazing successes using my helpful people box! I also gifted my “helpful person” with her own helpful people box after sharing my story with her and she too has had many wonderful successes in terms of donations of equipment and money to help support her organization. Perhaps the next time you find yourself in need of some special “helpful” assistance, consider creating your own helpful people box! You too may be wonderfully amazed with the results!

If you would like more information regarding how to energize the Helpful People and Travel Gua of your home and/or learn more about Feng Shui in general please check out my website “Todayisyourluckydayfengshui” your source for FREE comprehensive and easy to follow DIY (Do it Yourself) Feng Shui step by step quick reference guides.

© Lori Blevins and http://todayisyourluckdayblog.wordpress.com, July 24, 2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Lori Blevins and https://todayisyourluckydayblog.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.



Categories: Feng Shui

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

126 replies

  1. Hi, I would like to subscribe for this blog to obtain most recent updates, so where can i do
    it please help.

    • Hi!
      Thanks so much for visiting my blog. I’m thrilled that you’re interested in following my blog! If you go to the home page and scroll down to the bottom there is a “follow” widget that you can click on that will provide you with email updates each time a new inspirational short story is published which is generally on a weekly basis. Thanks again for your kind words and interest in my blog! Blessings, Lori Blevins

  2. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much
    about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think
    that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a
    bit, but other than that, this is fantastic
    blog. A fantastic read. I’ll definitely be back.

    • Hi!
      Wow, I’m thrilled that you enjoyed my story “The Helpful People Box.” It is truly one of the most effective and results producing Feng Shui cures that I have ever used. Thank you so much for visiting my blog and for taking the time to leave such thoughtful feedback. I really appreciate your encouragement and support! If you’d like more information regarding Feng Shui in general please consider checking out Karen Rauch Carter’s, Move Your Stuff, Change Your Life – How to use Feng Shui to get Love, Money, Respect and Happiness. It’s a brilliant book! Best wishes to you! Blessings, Lori Blevins 😀

  3. Hi there mates, its wonderful piece of writing
    concerning cultureand completely defined, keep it up all the time.

    • Hi!
      Thanks so much for checking out my blog! I’m thrilled that you enjoyed my story “The Helpful People Box.” I really appreciate you taking the time to leave such thoughtful feedback. Thanks so much! Blessings, Lori Blevins

  4. When someone writes an post he/she retains the idea of a user in his/her brain that how a user can know it. Thus that’s why this paragraph is amazing. Thanks!

  5. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

    • Hi!
      Thanks so much for visiting my blog. I’m thrilled that you enjoyed my story “The Helpful People Box” and that you’ll continue to comeback and check out my inspirational short stories. That’s really great! I truly appreciate your encouragement and support! Blessings, Lori Blevins 😀

  6. Good day very nice website!! Man .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your website and take the feeds additionally? I am glad to seek out numerous helpful info here within the submit, we want work out extra techniques in this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

    • Hi!
      Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely compliment. I’m thrilled that you are enjoying my blog and will continue to stop by and visit by blog. That’s excellent news! Thanks so much for your encouragement and support! Blessings, Lori Blevins 😀

  7. Hi I am so grateful I found your webpage, I really found you by mistake, while I was looking on Google for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a fantastic post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the awesome work.

    • Wow!
      You seriously just made my day! Thank you so much for visiting my blog and for taking the time to leave such a lovely compliment! I truly appreciate your encouragement and support and am thrilled that you’ll continue to visit my blog. That’s excellent news! Thanks again for the kind words! Blessings, Lori Blevins 😀

  8. This information is worth everyone’s attention. Where can I find out more?

    • Hi!
      I’m so thrilled that you enjoyed my story “The Helpful People Box.” If you would like to learn more about Feng Shui please consider checking out my teacher, Karen Rauch Carter’s book “Move Your Stuff, Change Your Life – How to use Feng Shui to get Love, Money, Respect and Happiness. It’s really a great book that provides a wonderful and easy to understand overview of Feng Shui. Best wishes to you! Blessings, Lori Blevins 😀

  9. This website was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something that helped me. Kudos!

  10. What’s up, of course this post is in fact pleasant and I have learned lot of things from it about blogging. thanks.

  11. Your style is really unique compared to other people I’ve read stuff from. I appreciate you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll just bookmark this blog.

    • Hi!
      Thanks so much for visiting my blog and for taking the time to leave such a lovely compliment. I really appreciate your encouragement and support and am thrilled that you have bookmarked my blog! Wow! That’s excellent! Thanks so much! Blessings, Lori Blevins

  12. Hi there! I know this is somewhat off-topic but I had to ask. Does managing a well-established blog such as yours take a lot of work? I am brand new to running a blog however I do write in my journal daily. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my own experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!

    • Hi!
      You know I just created my blog 3 months ago and I”m totally new to the whole blog world so it’s truly a major compliment to be asked for advice. I created my blog as a means to give voice to my desire for creative expression. It’s truly been an amazing experience and it’s so thrilling when you receive feedback from others who have not only gifted you with their time by visiting your blog but also took the time to leave their comments. That’s truly the best! I typically post a new inspirational short story each week and I make it a point to keep each story at or under 1,000 words to ensure that they are quick reads. I spend a few hours each week on my blog both in writing and responding back to comments. I like to write inspirational short stories so that’s my target subject plus as a Feng Shui consultant I often write stories based on my client consults. The best advice that I can offer is to write about something that you truly enjoy and are inspired by so that you’ll always find writing a pleasure and not a chore. Also make it a point to use a blog format that easy! I love wordpress.com because it’s so easy to use plus they have lots of free formats to choose from. I only recently upgraded to a paid format, Opti, only because I wanted my blog to look more professional and be easier to navigate. Hope this helps! Best wishes to you for much success! Blessings, Lori Blevins 😀

  13. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my web site thus i came to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to improve my site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

    • Hi!
      Wow, it’s always great to receive feedback from fellow bloggers and I’m thrilled that you like my site, that’s such a lovely compliment. Best wishes and much success to you! Blessings, Lori Blevins 😀

  14. Just want to say your article is as astounding. The clarity to your publish is just cool and i could think you are knowledgeable in this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to snatch your feed to stay updated with impending post. Thanks one million and please keep up the enjoyable work.

    • Hi!
      Thanks so much for visiting my blog and for taking the time to leave such thoughtful feedback. I truly appreciate your encouragement and support and I’m thrilled that you enjoyed my story “The Helpful People Box.” Blessings, Lori Blevins 😀

Leave a comment